Mapping the TOEIC Tests on the CEFR

The Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR) for Languages: Learning, Teaching, Assessment provides a common basis for describing the skills needed to reach different levels of language proficiency, and is used by language instructors, educators, curriculum designers and agencies working in the field of language development. The CEFR describes language proficiency in listening, reading, speaking and writing on a six-level scale:

  • A1–A2 (Basic User) 
  • B1–B2 (Independent User) 
  • C1–C2 (Proficient User)

The CEFR provides a descriptive context that may be used to interpret the meaning and practical significance of scores on language tests. If a test score can be one of the levels of the CEFR, what that score means and what candidates with at least that score are likely to be able to do becomes clear. For details, you may refer to page 2 of the flyer below:



你的電子郵件位址並不會被公開。 必要欄位標記為 *